ellepop

Sun & Sand, Thin & Fat, Hope: Little Pieces of Poetry

In Poetry on May 2, 2014 at 1:36 am

I wrote these zero-draft poems during a self-imposed free-writing exercise in May 1999 and added the Scriptures today.


 

“There will be no more night. They will not need the light of a lamp or the light of the sun, for the Lord God will give them light. And they will reign for ever and ever.” +Revelation 22:5 (NIV)

The Sun

To burn
to damage
to shine
to tan

for warmth
for growth
for love
which vitamins, again?

sun-kissed skin
sun-splotched skin

sprawled on the sand all day long.
I walk away tired from nothing, and brown.

(May 19, 1999)

______________________

 

“But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand.” +Matthew 7:26 (NIV)

The Sand

In my navel
in my eyes—ouch!
creeping into my crevices

 soft and lumpy under my head and body
like a poorly made bed

soaked with the sea
squishes between my toes

 I leave my footprints for a moment
before they are erased by the playful waves.

(May 19, 1999)

______________________

 

“My knees give way from fasting; my body is thin and gaunt.” +Psalm 109:24 (ESV)

Thin

My pants slide on—no struggle these days.
Same shape, just different size.
Where’d it all go?

 The reflection looks the same to me.
But I FEEL so good.
And others can see.
They see the size change.
They mostly see how I FEEL, though.
They’re not even aware of that fact, ironically.

Acceptance before the results.
Otherwise, the results will never be enough.
Start beautiful. End up feeling full, satisfied, more beautiful.

(May 19, 1999)

______________________

 

“The priest shall burn them on the altar as a food offering, a pleasing aroma. All the fat is the Lord’s.” +Leviticus 3:16 (NIV)

Fat

Battle with my clothes.
Uncomfortable. Frumpy. Frustrated.
Waistbands fold into my flesh.
Seams leave indents in my skin.

Crowded looking in the zone.
Lumpy lines.
Clothes to camouflage, not to flatter.
What’s to flatter?

Sink into depression,
Sink my teeth into bread and pizza and frozen yogurt.

Sinking, sinking, sinking to my knees.

I reach my arms up to God for help. He gives me His hand.
I will eat His bread instead.
No longer will I be plagued by empty calories.
He fills me up and I am satisfied.

(May 19, 1999)

______________________

 

“Who by him do believe in God, that raised him up from the dead, and gave him glory; that your faith and hope might be in God.” +1 Peter 1:21 (KJV)

Hope

Shining

Brightly like the sun.

It comes from the Son.

Open your eyes to see it, though.

Open your heart to see Him, you must.

Untouchable, but so easy to feel

and to know

if only you believe.

(May 31, 1999)

Leave a Reply

